French Longitudinal Study of Children

How do children grow?

Until recently, this question had gone unanswered in France, owing to the absence of large-scale studies. At long last, however, researchers from many different disciplines are tracking the lives of children from birth to adulthood. More than 18,000 children born in metropolitan France in 2011 (i.e. one in every 50 children born that year) have been included in the study.

Following these same-aged children over a full two decades will give us a unique opportunity to deepen our understanding of the factors affecting their development and how they find their place in society. Researchers are interested not only in the children’s health, schooling and diet, but also in their family and social life, as well as their environment. It is the drawing together of all these different strands that makes Elfe such an important scientific project.

Managed by the French National Institute for Demographic Studies (INED) and the National Institute for Health and Medical Research (INSERM), in partnership with the French National Blood Service (EFS), the Elfe study has the backing of a consortium of ministries and public institutions.

What’s new ?

Two new follow-up stages are currently underway:
- A survey of what children learn in their first year at primary school, for families participating in the national study [More information]
- A survey among the 10- to 11-year-olds taking part in the pilot study [More information]

All our news

Newsletter

Keep up with all our latest news and scientific advances!

I subscribe

Just published

« Factors associated with the introduction of complementary feeding in the French ELFE cohort study », Maternal & Child Nutrition, octobre 2017.
[Link]

All publications

Étude Longitudinale Française depuis l’Enfance

Comment grandissent les enfants ?

Aucune étude d’envergure nationale n’était encore venue répondre à cette question en France. Pour la première fois, des chercheurs de tous horizons suivent l’histoire des enfants, de leur naissance à l’âge adulte. Plus de 18 000 enfants nés en France métropolitaine en 2011 ont été  inclus dans l’étude, ce qui représente 1 enfant sur 50 parmi la génération 2011.

L’observation d’enfants nés à la même période, sur une durée de vingt ans, représente une occasion unique de mieux comprendre ce qui influence leur développement et la façon dont ils trouvent leur place dans la société. Les chercheurs s’intéressent à leur santé, leur scolarité, leur alimentation, leur vie familiale et sociale ou encore leur environnement. Le croisement de ces multiples informations fait toute la richesse scientifique de l’étude Elfe.

Pilotée par l’Institut national d’études démographiques (Ined) et l’Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale (Inserm), en partenariat avec l’Établissement Français du Sang (EFS), l’étude Elfe est soutenue par un ensemble de ministères et d’institutions publiques.

Actualités

Deux nouvelles étapes de suivi sont en cours :
- une enquête sur les apprentissages des enfants au CP pour les familles de l’étude nationale [En savoir plus]
- une enquête autour des 10-11 ans des enfants participant à l’étude pilote [En savoir plus]

Toutes les actualités

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez être informé.e des actualités et avancées scientifiques de l’étude ?

Je m’abonne

Vient de paraître

« Factors associated with the introduction of complementary feeding in the French ELFE cohort study », Maternal & Child Nutrition, octobre 2017.
[Lien]

Toutes les publications